Deferred Action Applications

USCIS has announced that the expanded Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) will begin accepting applications February 18, 2015.

To be eligible for the expanded DACA program, you must:

  • Have come to the United States before your sixteenth birthday.
  • Have continuously lived in the U.S. since January 1, 2010.
  • Have graduated or obtained a certificate of completion from high school, have obtained a general education development (GED) certificate, or “be in school” on the date that you submit your deferred action application.
  • Have not been convicted of certain criminal offenses.

The fees for expanded DACA are:

  • The application fee is $465, which consists of a $380 fee for the employment authorization application and an $85 fee for fingerprints. Fee waivers are not available. However, fee exemptions will be available in very limited circumstances.

How do I prove I am eligible:

To prove that you qualify for expanded DACA, you will need to establish your identity and continuous residence in the U.S. since January 1, 2010.

You must provide documents that prove you were in the U.S. during that period. Such documents can include financial records, lease agreements, phone bills, credit card bills, medical records, and school records (diplomas, GED certificates, report cards, school transcripts).

If you have ever been arrested, you should request a copy of your criminal history from your state or from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). You should also request, from each court in which you had a criminal case, all court disposition records.

Compiling all of this information will not only give you a better chance of being granted DACA, but it will allow USCIS to process your application that much faster. Call Ariano & Reppucci to speak directly with an experienced Phoenix immigration lawyer.